setting depth pass's

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

setting depth pass's

Postby jgstang » Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:45 am

still learning but having a blast! when I do a carve and set the depth @ .30 right now it just dives right in.. how do I set it where it will do 3 or 4 pass's so its not so hard on the bit ? thanks for your time...
jgstang
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: iconic 2015

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby Adrian » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:06 am

The number of passes (if it's not a 3D finishing pass) is calculated from the pass depth setup for the tool in the tool database. You can also override the calculated number of passes within the toolpath itself for certain toolpaths.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8434
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby martin54 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 am

Depends also on what toolpath strategy you are using, if you are using a vcarve toolpath there isn't much you can do other than setting the pass depth as Adrian has suggested but if you are using say a profile toolpath then you can do other things like set ramps & edit the passes so that you can set the DOC for each pass at a different value.
I do this sometimes when cutting say a chamfer, the first couple of passes where the tool is only cutting with a small part of the tool edge I will set the DOC per pass deeper than I do when it is cutting with the full edge :lol:
If you are using the profile toolpath or the pocket toolpath strategies then you can do this using the edit passes option on the form :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby Leo » Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:48 pm

In the tool database there is a box called "pass depth", under cutting parameters.

I know some readers don't buy into this, but a good general starting point is to set the value to half the diameter of the cutter. So a .500 diameter cutter would be .250 on pass depth.

Depending on the cutter, that value can be less or it can be more.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby jgstang » Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm

don't know if I get this right but under the tool cutting depths... there is START DEPTH ( D ) 0.0 and FLAT DEPTH ( F ) if I set the start @ .12 and flat @ .25 would that work ? makes sense to me but you guys are the Pro's Just a side note... I've restored countless classic mustangs and built a few nice house's but this stuff is very addicting! I have the 2015 ICONIC machine I love and a 4X10 space saver I have not tried yet but I can't get enough of it!! thanks
jgstang
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: iconic 2015

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby martin54 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:29 pm

jgstang wrote:don't know if I get this right but under the tool cutting depths... there is START DEPTH ( D ) 0.0 and FLAT DEPTH ( F ) if I set the start @ .12 and flat @ .25 would that work ? makes sense to me but you guys are the Pro's Just a side note... I've restored countless classic mustangs and built a few nice house's but this stuff is very addicting! I have the 2015 ICONIC machine I love and a 4X10 space saver I have not tried yet but I can't get enough of it!! thanks


No what you have just mentioned is on the vcarve toolpath form, to alter the depth of cut per pass for a tool you need to be in the tool data base

http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... 20database

The start depth is the depth the machine will start cutting which would normally be zero if you are setting your z zero to the material surface so setting a start depth of 0.12 would mean the machine would plunge to 0.12 before starting to cut :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3909
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby IslaWW » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:53 pm

"The start depth is the depth the machine will start cutting which would normally be zero if you are setting your z zero to the material surface so setting a start depth of 0.12 would mean the machine would plunge to 0.12 before starting to cut"

A point of clarification: When the start depth is zero, the bit will calculate the toolpaths from the material surface, whether you have the Z reference (zero) set to the top of material, or bottom of material (machine bed). There are no parameters that differ between either top or bottom Z reference, other than the checkbox that determines which position you chose for the Z ref.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby KeithW » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:51 am

Don't use V-Carve, but in Aspire, you set the number of passes you want to cut, and it will determine the depth of each (pass) cut depending on the total depth of cut.
KeithW
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 3:13 am
Location: Red Deer, AB
Model of CNC Machine: Probotix Meteor, Aspire 8.014

Re: setting depth pass's

Postby rawand » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:24 am

keep following Adrians ideas.
http://www.soran.edu.iq
rawand
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:50 am
Model of CNC Machine: Map LPZ1000


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests