How to Set Up a Job with Non-rectangular Material

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
DyeHard
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger II SR44

How to Set Up a Job with Non-rectangular Material

Post by DyeHard »

I'm new to VCarve Pro and I'm currently making my way thru the tutorials.
I need to set up a job that begins with a piece of wood that doesn't have a simple flat top surface but have been unable to find a reference that provides any insight on how to accomplish this.

I need to carve shapes that have some areas that may extend an inch or two above the rest of the carving. For example, I have a 1' by 2' piece of wood that is 1" thick but there are 3 2"x2" areas where I need parts of the carving to be 1" higher than the top surface ( 2" depth total). I certainly prefer not to start with 2" thick stock and waste most of the top inch. My preference is to prepare the stock by gluing the 3 2"x2" pieces of wood precisely where they need to be on the 1' x 2' stock and then carve it out. Since I have to perform this style of cutting often I'm looking for a reasonably efficient way to handle this type of job.

So how can I define a VCarve Pro job that uses non-rectangular wood?

If this isn't supported in VCarve Pro, is it supported in Aspire or another Vectric product?

Thank you for your help.

4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro, Probotix Meteor 25" x 50"

Re: How to Set Up a Job with Non-rectangular Material

Post by 4DThinker »

You can't.

But you can cut the highest areas, then set a start depth for the low areas that will eliminate the need to cut air before getting to the lower areas.
Set the material thickness to its maximum thickness, then cut your highest areas first, then set new start depths to begin the lower areas.

IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Controller Upgrades

Post by IslaWW »