Which post processor for my CNC machine?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
ShieldIt
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna SmartShop Maker

Which post processor for my CNC machine?

Post by ShieldIt »

Hi, I am new to using VCarve Pro this week. We just set up our new CNC Machine which is a Laguna SmartShop M(Maker).
I am working in English units (inches). When saving my Toolpaths, I don't know which Post Processor to select because my exact CNC machine does not appear in the list of VCarve Pro save toolpath options. There are 10 Laguna options - with 3 different file extentions: .NC, .mmg & .prj.
I tried one of the .NC files and started the machine, let it cart part of the path. XY was in the right location, but Z may be off and I'm not sure why - maybe the file type. Looking for recommendations or explanation of those different file extensions.

Savannahdan
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8

Re: Which post processor for my CNC machine?

Post by Savannahdan »

The manual for your machine says it's compatible with this post processor - Laguna IQ ATC(mm). I reviewed the manual on the product page on their site so you may want to check it out and see if it the same as your machine.

ShieldIt

Post by ShieldIt »

Thanks

ShieldIt

Post by ShieldIt »

I selected Laguna IQ HHC (mm) (*.mmg) which worked well for cutting my spoil board with the flycutter tool, but I tried the same post processor to save my toolpaths for what I'm trying to cut and I get this Error:
"The toolpaths use different tools and the selected PostProcessor does not support toolchanging".

I need toolchanging because I'm using 2-3 tools for each job I'm setting up.

dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

Post by dwilli9013 »

Does your machine have an automatic tool changer? If not then you can still change tools mid run manually with the post you are currently running.