I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask it

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask it

Postby Mikehell » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:25 pm

Any plans for a Macitosh version?

I teach the CNC class at a makerspace. It's pretty much a class on V-Carve with some "how to use the machine" thrown in. Every single class I get someone who whips out a MacBook and asks this question. And, yes, said MacBook person ALWAYS ends up to be the problem student.
Mikehell
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby ger21 » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:34 pm

parallels or bootcamp.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Mikehell » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:41 pm

ger21 wrote:parallels or bootcamp.


That answer isn't good enough for the Mac folk. You know, the guys who insist on doing their work in metric units on a machine set up for imperial measurements.
Mikehell
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby IslaWW » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:31 pm

I always let the MAC, Mach and Metric users know that "THAT CLASS" is next week (when I am gone) :D
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby garylmast » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:47 pm

You know, the guys who insist on doing their work in metric units on a machine set up for imperial measurements.


I use both Windows 7 and Windows 10 (which sucks) and I use both metric and imperial measurements, which don't matter because when I save it to the post processor, it converts to the correct measurement that the machine is setup for. I do have Mac on my IPhone...I think!
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Leo » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:48 pm

This is just a user forum - we don't know the answer.

Ask Vectric support
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2705
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Mikehell » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:01 pm

garylmast wrote:
You know, the guys who insist on doing their work in metric units on a machine set up for imperial measurements.


I use both Windows 7 and Windows 10 (which sucks) and I use both metric and imperial measurements, which don't matter because when I save it to the post processor, it converts to the correct measurement that the machine is setup for. I do have Mac on my IPhone...I think!


Metric is fine if you go metric for everything. But when I'm teaching in 'Murican units it's a pain to have that one student who insists that metric is better and tries to do it in metric.

Me: "Set your material to 16"x 5.5 x .75"
Student: "what's that in millimeters?"
Mikehell
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby garylmast » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:12 pm

Do the jobset in inches and if you want it changed to millimeters, go back into jobset and click the mm, it will change automatically. Takes two seconds. I spent most of my life using inches. Once I got used to metric, that's the one I prefer, but depending on what I'm doing, I use both. :) :) :)
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby mtylerfl » Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:07 pm

Mikehell wrote:
Me: "Set your material to 16"x 5.5 x .75"
Student: "what's that in millimeters?"


Just tell the student, “Ask Siri”.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3284
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby TReischl » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:06 am

Since they love metric so much, tell them to head down to the local Ace Hardware and ask for some M8 threaded rod and the domed head M8 nuts to go with it. While they are there, they can also go look for metric drills.

I like metric just fine, I have a metric scale on my lathe, the divisions are much easier to read, but when I am done building this clock, I will go back to imperial so the guys at the hardware store quit laughing at me.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X8 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby redwood » Sat Jul 07, 2018 2:30 am

I have some Festool tools, so I'm kind of used to metric, though all my materials are imperial and I have to pull out my magic conversion chart.

Anyone notice that metric fasteners are way more then equivalent imperial ones.
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Rcnewcomb » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:20 am

Remember that you can do the metric and imperial conversion within the program
entryCalc.PNG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby jerry carney » Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:12 pm

Gary has a wicked sense of humor. (tee-hee) Jerry
jerry carney
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot desktop

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Mikehell » Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:29 pm

Am I the only one who has someone say "I've got this thing I'm thinking of getting cut on the CNC..." and want you to take a look.

They whip out a MacBook and you know, right then and there, that it's all going downhill from there.
Mikehell
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask

Postby Rcnewcomb » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:39 pm

They whip out a MacBook

Unless they are doing their work on Sketchup or conFusion360, then it's not a big deal.

Instead it goes downhill when they want the prototype for free because "we'll make it up in volume down the road."
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Next

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests