Heavy raster lines

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Heavy raster lines

Postby maineshops » Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:53 pm

In D&M machinist finish preview I get 3 heavy raster marks spaced across the pattern. Any ideas how to smooth that out? I assume it would leave three raised lines in the pattern. Any thoughts? Dan
maineshops
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:47 pm
Model of CNC Machine: home built

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby Rcnewcomb » Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:59 pm

Can you post a screenshot so we are sure what you are referring to?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3112
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby maineshops » Thu Jul 05, 2018 2:02 pm

See attached
Attachments
A01B01C5-063D-4571-8AA3-970E2EC8FB9F.jpeg
maineshops
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:47 pm
Model of CNC Machine: home built

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby maineshops » Thu Jul 05, 2018 2:04 pm

The lines don’t shop well in the screen dump
maineshops
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:47 pm
Model of CNC Machine: home built

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby Mike-S » Thu Jul 05, 2018 3:19 pm

Do those lines show up when you pre-view the cut?
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby Adrian » Thu Jul 05, 2018 3:40 pm

Probably just artifacts. Run the actual preview and see what happens. At the stage of the screenshot all you're really seeing is a graphical representation of the moves the tool will make rather than the actual cut.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8520
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby maineshops » Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:11 pm

Dosen’t show up in preview. I have had raised lines show up in actual cutting on some other occasions so I was concerned. Could have been machanical issues though in this home grown machine. I’ll ignore them and thanks. Dan
maineshops
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:47 pm
Model of CNC Machine: home built

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby martin54 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:49 pm

The toolpath preview is very accurate so if they don't show up when you look at the preview then they won't be there when you machine it :lol: :lol:
If there are deep lines in the machined part that don't show in the toolpath preview then the problem is almost always with the machine or the control software not the vectric software :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Heavy raster lines

Postby maineshops » Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:44 pm

Thanks for that information Martin. So many variables in this process it is good to have this group for us new guys. Dan
maineshops
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:47 pm
Model of CNC Machine: home built


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rlp17820 and 26 guests