Tool Table-spindle speed

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby naijin » Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:36 am

Hi there, just a question regarding spindle speed when selecting a tool, does vcp write in g code the rpm which is entered with each tool in the tool database when selecting a tool ? the reason I ask is I have just programed UCCNC to start and stop the spindle when a tool path is executed. Does the g code also determine the rpm for that particular tool, if so than will I need to update each tool in the data base ?

Regards
Nick :(
naijin
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:25 am
Model of CNC Machine: home made

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby Adrian » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:27 pm

Depends on the post processor being used. If the post processor has the code in it to change spindle speed then the speeds are written to the file.

The speed comes from the definition in the tool data base but that can be overridden in the toolpath itself.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby naijin » Sun Jun 03, 2018 1:04 pm

Hi Adrian, thanks for the reply, I had an idea that it is what you said, I am using the Mach3 post processor.

Nick
naijin
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:25 am
Model of CNC Machine: home made

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby martin54 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 3:27 pm

If you are using UCCNC then why are you using the mach3 post processor ? There are both imperial & metric post processors for UCCNC in the list of post processors :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3726
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby ger21 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:49 pm

martin54 wrote:There are both imperial & metric post processors for UCCNC in the list of post processors :lol: :lol:


Not in my installation. Although there's a Stepcraft UCCNC mm post.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby naijin » Mon Jun 04, 2018 4:12 am

Hi martin54, I was advised to use mach3 pp when I first converted to UCCNC, it worked o.k. so I didn't bother to look any further, I could not find a UCCNC pp when I originaly installed it.

Nick
naijin
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:25 am
Model of CNC Machine: home made

Re: Tool Table-spindle speed

Postby martin54 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:04 pm

ger21 wrote:
martin54 wrote:There are both imperial & metric post processors for UCCNC in the list of post processors :lol: :lol:


Not in my installation. Although there's a Stepcraft UCCNC mm post.


Not got the software on a machine at home but I was sure it was a UCCNC post processor I was using so will have to check tomorrow which one I am actually using :oops: :oops:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3726
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests