Finishing pass help

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Stari
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL

Finishing pass help

Post by Stari »

Morning everyone! Noob here

Looking for some help on a project I'm trying to finish up on. I'm wanting to clear out the small areas around the top and bottom of the frame and also around the smaller lettering.

I've tried to make paths several times from .25 ballnose to small tapered ones and I can't seem to get all the extra.

Any suggestions?

Apparently I can't upload the picture without it deleting my post. :(

AlanAndrews
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: ELU860

Re: Finishing pass help

Post by AlanAndrews »

Hello Noob,

it will help us to see the model and toolpaths you are using.

Will you please provide your files.

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle

Post by sharkcutup »

When cleaning up smaller areas I usually use a 1/16th end mill. Of course on beveled areas or lettering I would tend to use a v-bit either at the same depth as the original passes or a shallower depth.
All the above is rather time consuming but the end product appearance is so much better looking.

Sharkcutup
V-Carve Pro Tips, Gadget Tips & Videos
YouTube Channel - Sharkcutup CNC
V-Carve Pro 11.554

Stari

Post by Stari »

AlanAndrews wrote:Hello Noob,

it will help us to see the model and toolpaths you are using.

Will you please provide your files.
Here ya go!
https://www.dropbox.com/s/bu23zmtt5x60b ... 2.crv?dl=0

Sorry its dropbox, having issues with uploading a file to the forum for some reason.

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard

Post by sharkcutup »

After reviewing your file --- Even a .125 End Mill would help in clearing some of the smaller areas!

Unfortunately, after seeing the file too those areas you are wanting cleaned up are in very tight locations and if you used a 1/16th endmill you would remove the bevel from the outlying area of the lettering.