edgelit signs

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Chris Hawks
Model of CNC Machine: home made

edgelit signs

Post by Chris Hawks »

Hi Guys. I'm new to the forum but not to V-carve and I'm trying to get into the edgelit lighting also. I have made a few but not 100% happy with them. I'm using a 120 deg drag bit on cast acrylic and it does good but I either get some streaking or light and dark areas in my images. I've tried different depths, speed ,step overs etc. Could someone point me in the right direction on something maybe to look at or maybe settings that work for you. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Chris

highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: edgelit signs

Post by highpockets »

Chris,
I'm also new to the edgelit signs. I had a problem with one sign that using Fill at any depth, step over just would not get some areas. I would have a outline but only partial fill. Try using the Hatch setting. Worked for my situation.
John
Maker of Chips

Chris Hawks

Post by Chris Hawks »

Yeah I thought about trying the hatch just haven't done yet. It's just weird. Say you are engraving a persons body and it starts at the left foot and works its way up the leg and when it gets to the mid section it will start down the right leg and finish that part of the leg out. The right leg will look different than the left leg almost like a lighter reflection than the left. I have an example but I can't seem to post it on here. Do I need so many post before I can upload an image?
Thanks

highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Post by highpockets »

I believe you should be able to upload a picture. Look at Upload attachment below the message area. Pictures are limited to 2MB so you may have to reduce the size of you picture.
John
Maker of Chips

Chris Hawks

Post by Chris Hawks »

I'll try the hatch tomorrow and post back my findings.
Thanks

martin54
Vectric Archimage