V-Carve text inlay project

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Phil
Vectric Wizard

V-Carve text inlay project

Post by Phil »

I've been asked to make an inlaid sign. I have a lot of CNC experience but this will be my 1st inlay. The sign will be a 3/4" x 17" x 34" maple base with walnut (probably) letters. The word Stationery is 4" tall. I've watched a few videos on the topic and I am clear on the process. My questions are on bit selection and depth of cut.
Should I use a 60 degree bit or a 90?
What depth of cut is suitable for letters of this size?

Thanks in advance,

Phil
Attachments
Stationery Factory Negative.jpg

FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)

Re: V-Carve text inlay project

Post by FixitMike »

I would use the sharper (60 degree) V bit because you have so many narrow lines. With the full V cut for the depth. Be sure to remove all of the fuzzies before gluing.

You may wish to cut the inlay into sections and glue them into place a couple of letters at a time. Also, I put a couple of coats of finish on the base before cutting. Makes it easier to remove glue squeeze out.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

Steve Misher
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR4

Post by Steve Misher »

What font is that? It looks real nice

Phil
Vectric Wizard

Post by Phil »

The layout was created by a professional graphic artist. The font is Trajan with a little artistic flair on the "O". I've done many signs for this business which is being re-purposed to house a variety of small business. It was originally a specialty paper facility. It was owned by Crane Co. in Dalton, MA. Crane produces all of the paper for our currency.

Phil
Attachments
Stationery factory (Small).jpg

Phil
Vectric Wizard

Post by Phil »