Measurement Problem

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Measurement Problem

Postby pd417 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:08 am

I am building a dust boot for my NWA Piranha FX XL.
The boot measures 8.0"x 4.4375" and will be in two parts, part 1 will be attached to the underside of the router carriage,
part 2 will be the bristle plate.

Part 1 has two holes, the first is 2.2655", this is where the vac attaches and the second is
2.8625", this mounts over the bottom of the router.

I am designing this in VCarve 9 and I'm having a problem setting the two holes in the proper
locations. Hole 1 is supposed to be 0.625" from one end and hole 2 at 0.875" from the opposite end.

I place the hole where I think it should go and use the measure tool, then move as necessary.
This is tedious and not accurate. Is there a way I can enter a value so the hole is in the exact location I
need or have the measurement value displayed as I move the circle?
pd417
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:05 am
Model of CNC Machine: NWA Piranha FX XL

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby gkas » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:51 am

When you draw the circle, you can enter the coords in the top, left dialog box. If they're already drawn, you can use the MOVE dialog to enter the new coords.
gkas
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby PaulRowntree » Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:11 am

pd417 wrote:I am building a dust boot for my NWA Piranha FX XL.
The boot measures 8.0"x 4.4375" and will be in two parts, part 1 will be attached to the underside of the router carriage,
part 2 will be the bristle plate.


Where are you buying the brush?
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby pd417 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:49 am

I tried the MOVE dialog and was given the choice of Absolute and Relative.
If I use Absolute, I have to define an anchor point at either the four
corners or the middle. I need to measure from the center of the left and right edges.

As for the bristles, I plan to pull apart a workbench brush.
pd417
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:05 am
Model of CNC Machine: NWA Piranha FX XL

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby Adrian » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:11 am

You know the radius of the circle so add that to the absolute measurement you need and use the centre anchor point. VCarve will even calculate it for you if use the maths function in the entry box.

Another way is to snap the edge of the circle onto the line you're using and then move a relative amount.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby tomgardiner » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:22 pm

You can create a circle anywhere on the drawing then close when you double click the circle you can drag it to any node and get a node to node alignment. For instance you can drag your circle to have its 9 o'clock node snap to the midpoint on the plate's side. Once there, type m to open the move window and click relative and move in the x distance the appropriate amount.
tomgardiner
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FMT Patriot 4 x8

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby Adrian » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:21 pm

The edge of a circle is going to be the same as the corner anchor point so there are multiple ways you can do it by entering the co-ordinates, positioning guidelines, drawing guide vectors etc etc.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby dealguy11 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:26 pm

A quick and dirty way to to this is to create a line at the point you want the edge of the circle to be. You can either set the position of the line directly when creating it, or move it using the Move command with absolute coordinates (that's what I do). Then create the circle and use the appropriate "Align Objects" command to snap it to the right location. This takes a few seconds in real life - far less time than it took to type this.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby garylmast » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:27 pm

Where are you buying the brush?


Paul, I just redid mine and got the brush at:
http://www.northshorecommercialdoor.com ... gLAhPD_BwE

Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby pd417 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:13 am

Thanks for the help, as always, much appreciated.

** Gary...looks like I'll use the online store you listed, much better than taking apart a
bench brush!
pd417
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:05 am
Model of CNC Machine: NWA Piranha FX XL

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby PaulRowntree » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:52 am

garylmast wrote:
Where are you buying the brush?


Paul, I just redid mine and got the brush at:
http://www.northshorecommercialdoor.com ... gLAhPD_BwE

Gary

Excellent Gary, thank you!
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby armbrusterco » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:56 pm

I got my dust collector brushes at McMaster Carr. I used the "Easy-Cut Strip Brushes" and you can get them in different lengths. You can press them into a profiled slot in acrylic, using some silicone to glue them into the slot.
https://www.mcmaster.com/#strip-brushes/=1a82y17

I still have extra 5 foot lengths of both 2" and 3" brushes. If anyone can use them, send me a private message.

Bob
Bob Armbruster
www.ArmbrusterCo.com
armbrusterco
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Lake Barrington, IL
Model of CNC Machine: Roland MDX-40A

Re: Measurement Problem

Postby Bobtail Farm » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:09 pm

zoro (zorotools) up to 6" in height by different lengths; some with only metal backers (a bit more challenging to form into the channel) and some with nylon/plastic (easy to form into the channel).
Bobtail Farm
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], bravesoul, ger21, GWDawg1, TontonRud and 18 guests