Help Please

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Help Please

Postby Gomer P » Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:45 pm

Hi
I am having issues with the tool paths on vcarve desktop. issues are with the finishing path. my rough cuts are perfect, when I go to do the finishing cut I get random issues with the cut going all the way through the part and not following the vectors correctly. it wants to cut all the way through the material in some places and not in others. I have no idea what I am doing wrong...
Gomer P
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: Help Please

Postby Adrian » Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:59 pm

Is this with a 3D roughing/finishing toolpath?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Help Please

Postby Gomer P » Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:04 pm

yes, I am importing a simple slt file and trying to cut it out from 2" thick material.
I am importing the stl, selecting the item creating a vector, running the roughing tool path and all is great. I run the finising tool path and get really odd results it wants to cut all the way through in some places and not others its leaving areas uncut etc...
Gomer P
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: Help Please

Postby Adrian » Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:09 pm

Hard to say exactly without seeing the file but did you zero the Z to the same level as the roughing tool when putting the finishing tool in?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Help Please

Postby Gomer P » Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:11 pm

thanks for the help I am not even getting to cutting the parts yet, I can see the issues in vcarve preview
Gomer P
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: Help Please

Postby Adrian » Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:15 pm

Going to need to see the actual file or some screenshots to be able to help anymore. I've never come across that before at the preview stage.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Help Please

Postby Gomer P » Sat Oct 21, 2017 6:31 pm

See the attached photos below. Thank You
Attachments
CE433597-85B4-4BC0-A6DE-8AC1CD35267A.jpeg
Gomer P
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: Help Please

Postby Bob Reda » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:18 pm

I do not know the capabilities of v carve pro desktop with 3d.. First I would look at the depth of the model. Second, I would check to see where in the material the model is setting. Third I would check the roughing pass allowance followed by the finish pass depth of cut.

Bob
Bob Reda
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Monessen, Pa
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot 48x48 upgraded prt

Re: Help Please

Postby martin54 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:15 am

Have you tried cutting that using 2D toolpaths ?
If it were me I would just draw some vectors & then cut that using profile & pocket cuts, would probably save a lot of time & get a better finish at the same time.

Not sure I can help with your problem though :lol: :lol:

Bob has posted some good info, about the size of the model & it's position in your material block, what machining allowances are you using ?

what bits are you using & are you using the same bit for both the roughing & finishing toolpaths ?
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Help Please

Postby Gomer P » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:25 pm

Thanks everyone for the advice. I ended up going with. A 2D tool path as I could never get the 3D import to cut clean. I did figure out that the 3D finishing cut is not happy if you select an end Mill and only works for me under a ball nose.
Also I discovered that using the bed as zero was giving me issues with the Z as my controller had a default of 40mm safe max. So this was causing the bit not to clear my 2” material.
Gomer P
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests