VCarve on Macbook

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

VCarve on Macbook

Postby MRH91 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:03 pm

Hi all,

I've read a couple of posts on this forum about running VCarve on a Mac but I find them hard to understand, with language that isn't familiar (they go on to talk about different types of software to run) and I'm not very au fait when it comes to software/computer systems.

Please could someone give me some basic knowledge on what I need to do? I'm fed up with using two laptops to create some simple Code.

Many thanks,

Rhys
MRH91
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:39 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby Adrian » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:31 pm

https://www.macworld.co.uk/feature/mac- ... 6-3626493/

If that all sounds like double dutch then it may be worth seeing if there is a Mac expert/power user in your area who can set it up for you.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby MRH91 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:58 pm

Adrian wrote:https://www.macworld.co.uk/feature/mac-software/best-virtualisation-app-run-windows-on-your-mac-boot-camp-vmware-parallels-2016-3626493/

If that all sounds like double dutch then it may be worth seeing if there is a Mac expert/power user in your area who can set it up for you.



Thanks, just what I'm after.
MRH91
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:39 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby LittleGreyMan » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:49 pm

The link Adrian gave is very good.

Forget Crossover and Wine. I just gave again a try to Crossover under Sierra, but there are still graphic issues with Aspire which makes it unusable.

Feel free to ask more specific questions.

Search for VirtualBox, Parallels and VMWare on the forum, you'll find valuable info.
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby armbrusterco » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:41 am

I agree that you should forget Crossover.

On my 2006 MacBook Pro I run Aspire using Windows XP in Parallels Desktop. My MacBook is in the shop with the CNC.

I also have a 2011 iMac desktop machine in my office where I do most of my Aspire work. I ryn Aspire using Windows 10 in Parallels Desktop.

I have used these setups for the last 6 years.
Bob Armbruster
www.ArmbrusterCo.com
armbrusterco
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Lake Barrington, IL
Model of CNC Machine: Roland MDX-40A

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby fredfow3 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:49 pm

All the Vectric products run great on my Macbook Pro running Parallels. It's a great tri-boot system, OSX, Windows and Linux all on one laptop.
Fred

https://www.parallels.com/landingpage/pd/general/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIg6qh8ZCK1wIViDuBCh1s0w4uEAAYASAAEgLRCPD_BwE
fredfow3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:40 am
Location: Massachusetts
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Swift 4x4, Shapeoko S3 XL

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby Ollywood » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:57 am

I use bootcamp, much better.

I bought a top of the line Dell, which died after a year, so now I run windows on a mac.

Go figure.
Ollywood
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 3:31 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model of CNC Machine: FMT Patriot 5 x 10 Plus w/atc

Re: VCarve on Macbook

Postby bk3132 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:15 am

Works great using Parallels on my MBP. If you go this route let parallels install windows for you. It will install a fully functional version for free. Then windows will want you to activate, but you don’t have to.
bk3132
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot PRSStandard 48-96


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GWDawg1 and 24 guests