Solid Toolpath View

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:19 am

Hi
Just upgraded to V9 and cant seem to find the solid toolpath view. Hope this is still a feature. Sorry if it has been asked before but cannot find.
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby IslaWW » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:25 am

Look at the top of the drawing area, right side
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:37 am

Thanks for the fast response Gary

Looking but not seeing. Can you screen shot?
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:39 am

I can see the "wireframe or solid" button but clicking on it does not give me the grey line I used yo get in 8.5
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby highpockets » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:41 am

Make sure you have a toolpath checked and are on the 2D tab.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:44 am

Yes, have done all that but can only see wireframe. Must be a bug. I am doing an inlay and wanting to see if tool is getting right into corners as I use to be able to do in 8.5
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:54 am

Okay, so it seems to be something to do with the female pocket. I can get a solid path on the male cut but only wireframe for the female.
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby highpockets » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:55 am

Like this?
Image 1.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:06 am

solid female.JPG
Solid male.JPG
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:07 am

So top pic is the female with solid pressed (only showing wire frame) and bottom is male which shows solid. Why doesnt solid work for female?
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Adrian » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:24 am

It's working fine for me in V9 with the solid option on a female pocket?

Could you attach an example file that shows it not working for you?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8226
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:38 am

Thanks Adrian

Tried a couple of times to upload but error message saying file is too big. Tried to condense but didn't work. It is a very simple drawing but is showing 3.5mb. Most of my 8.5 files that are more complex are much smaller in size. not sure what is going on there


Also noticing all the new V9 files have little padlocks attached. What's that about?
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Adrian » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:57 am

Are you running VCarve under Administrator privileges? If so the files you're created will be marked as owned by Administrator and may have the padlock icon on them. That's part of some versions of Windows and not a change or setting in VCarve.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8226
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby Plas4u » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:24 am

I have never heard of administrator privileges. I have been using 8.5 since it came out and all of my files have been created in that version. Today I downloaded V9 and simply migrated the files. When I opened three existing files in V9 and saved them they now appear with padlocks.

Their file size when in 8.5 was 890kb but the same file in V9 is 3.35mb Consequently I cannot upload to show you.

Any suggestions appreciated.
Plas4u
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multicam Classic 1000

Re: Solid Toolpath View

Postby BrianM » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:40 am

Hi,

We have verified that this is a bug with V9.007 with the 2D solid preview for VCarving toolpaths. We have now fixed this, and are preparing a new build and patch which we will release very shortly. I will add a post to this thread when the fix is available.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for reporting this.

Brian
Brian Moran
Managing Director
Vectric Ltd.
User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Redditch U.K

Next

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests