MDF or Wood 3D cutting

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
GJHall
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: DIY 48x96

MDF or Wood 3D cutting

Post by GJHall »

I am new at 3d cutting, well, I want to give it a try.

I have some 1" MDF that was given to me from a job for table tops.

I was wondering if this 1" MDF would be good for 3d cutting as I am just in the learning stages. If this worked, then I can attempt to use wood for my final cut project.

Gary

Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC

Re: MDF or Wood 3D cutting

Post by Rcnewcomb »

MDF is a good material for learning 3D machining. With a good finish is can be indistinguishable from real wood. Below is an example I did in MDF and applied a finish so it looked like cherry. A number of wood workers examined it up close and could not tell that is was MDF.
Attachments
EagleFreedomLiberty.JPG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out, another good day in the shop

4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro, Probotix Meteor 25" x 50"

Post by 4DThinker »

Just be prepared for the dust created while milling MDF. Not at all like milling wood.

highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Post by highpockets »

Randall,

I never imagined MDF could look so good! Nice work.

Maybe I should rethink MDF.

Would you be willing to share your finishing methods?
John
Maker of Chips

GJHall
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: DIY 48x96

Post by GJHall »

4DThinker wrote:Just be prepared for the dust created while milling MDF. Not at all like milling wood.
Yes, I use a dust collector with a dust boot. Works well for V carving and straight cut outs.
I just don't want to spend alot on wood and mess up. The MDF was given to me so nothing to really lose except for time. Thanks for the replys.

Gary

highpockets
Vectric Wizard

Post by highpockets »

Besides the dust MDF will also dull your cutters faster than wood.
John