Bevel the end of a part

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Bevel the end of a part

Post by gkas »

I'm pretty new at Vcarve Pro, about a week. My latest challenge was to bevel the end of a part. In this case a clamp. I got it done using fluting, after reading about the technique on this forum. It works great, but very slow to carve. I tried the chamfer gadget, but I can't figure out how to get it to bevel a single edge, and in a specified direction. After watching the Dovetails Gadget demo, I noticed how the pins bevel is cut. I have no idea how that was done. Can someone point me in the best directions?
Attachments
Fluting Beve_smalll.jpg

mike.davison
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger II with rotary

Re: Bevel the end of a part

Post by mike.davison »

This may be one of those cases where a table saw or some other conventional woodworking machine is faster. Something to consider.

If the slope matches that of a V bit or of some other profile router bit/cutter you could do a very simple profile cut.

Any chance you could create a jig to hold the board on edge and then mill the slope with an end mill? Pretty fast if you can access the board that way.

Otherwise..... a 3D model using the biggest round nose bit you have.

mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Post by mezalick »

Create a series of vectors and use the fluting toolpath option

Michael
Attachments
slope 1.JPG
slope 2.JPG
Michael Mezalick
https://www.youtube.com/user/mezalick
mm@mezalick.com

gkas
Vectric Wizard

Post by gkas »

That's what I have in my example. I've already cut a part to test it. The dovetail bevel looks like a much faster cut.

scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP11.5

Post by scottp55 »