VCarve Pro - Making a single straight line

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

VCarve Pro - Making a single straight line

Postby jimreed1948 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:25 pm

I'm new to Vcarve Pro but not to drawing software. Two other programs I have used have a tool to draw a straight line, Vcarve doesn't. What's the trick here? If I use another tool such as the arc, and use it for a straight line and not an arc, it looks good, but it will not cut because there is an open vector.

So how do I draw and cut a single or multiple straight lines?

Thanks for the help.
jimreed1948
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:36 pm
Location: Richmond, Tx
Model of CNC Machine: Torchmate

Re: VCarve Pro - Making a single straight line

Postby tmerrill » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:28 pm

Use the 'Draw Polyline' tool. Realize a single vector will be an open vector, whether straight or curved. There are toolpaths that work with open vectors and those that don't. It really depends on the results you are trying to get.

Being new to the software, are you aware of the tutorials found here - they can really help get you going:

http://www.vectric.com/support/training-material.html

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: VCarve Pro - Making a single straight line

Postby jimreed1948 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:08 pm

tmerrill wrote:Use the 'Draw Polyline' tool. Realize a single vector will be an open vector, whether straight or curved. There are toolpaths that work with open vectors and those that don't. It really depends on the results you are trying to get.

Being new to the software, are you aware of the tutorials found here - they can really help get you going:

http://www.vectric.com/support/training-material.html

Tim


Thanks for the help. I have reviewed some of the video but not the one that showed the polyline tool. I can now draw a straight line. I also found the toolpath you were talking about and it works fine now.
jimreed1948
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:36 pm
Location: Richmond, Tx
Model of CNC Machine: Torchmate


Return to VCarve Pro - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests