Vectric Lathe?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Vectric Lathe?

Postby rondunn » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:37 am

Sorry for posting this in the VCarve forum, I couldn't find anywhere more suitable.

I'm thinking about a CNC lathe. I use VCarve for my routers, but there doesn't seem to be an equivalent for lathes.

New product idea?

Ron.
rondunn
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:24 am

Re: Vectric Lathe?

Postby kaartman » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:09 am

Hallo Ron
Have a look at the comparison list of Vectric, http://www.vectric.com/WebSite/Vectric/ ... rision.htm look down the list for Wrapped Rotary Toolpath, and here are many topics to read about viewforum.php?f=38

K
kaartman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:41 pm

Re: Vectric Lathe?

Postby rondunn » Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:03 am

Hi Kaartman,

Do you think wrapped axes are a suitable replacement for a lathe?

My main reason for thinking about a lathe is to make model wheels. Curious to see if people have done this using a 4th axis and Vectric software.

Ron.
rondunn
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:24 am

Re: Vectric Lathe?

Postby dealguy11 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:57 am

Assuming it's some kind of spindle turning (as opposed to bowl turning) you can make close to anything with a 4th axis that you can make on a lathe, and lots of things you can't make on a lathe (assuming you have Aspire). You can make bowls, too, but the inside needs to be hollowed out with the bowl fastened to the table, not on the 4th axis. A 4th axis may give you better repeatability as well. I don't see any reason you couldn't make model wheels with it.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartistic.com
CAMaster StingerIII X3 - Aspire
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger III


Return to VCarve Pro - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 4 guests