Hi :)

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Sentinel
Vectric Apprentice

Hi :)

Post by Sentinel »

I am usually not very social (especially on the Internet), but I just had to register and say...

WOW!

First of all, software itself looks amazing (will explain later why).

And second - you guys, on this forum, are simply unreal. I've never seen nicer bunch of people on forum, regardless of the "topic". There is no egoism, everyone is willing to help, and let's not forget that developers are reading/posting here as well. Doesn't feel like "vendor forum", feels like bunch of buddies got together :)

Now, back to the software.

I have absolutelly no knowledge about machining or CNC. I am total newbie. I've spent past 15 years of my life in network/computer/GSM security, and just woke up one day and decided that I've had enough of that (started to hate it, hehe). So, I've decided that I want to do something I always wanted - use CNC machine, and actually create something that I can touch (or throw, if needed) - hopefully it'll earn some money too. Yeah, it's probably insane, but who cares - machine will be on its way soon, I hope.

For the past 2 weeks I've been reading everything I could, in regards to CNC machining, and I've reached the famous "information overload" stage, where I simply couldn't understand things anymore. It all got too mixed up.

Then I came across VCarve. And tutorials. I know it sounds silly, but I've understood more about "how that damn thing works" from watching your tutorials, than from reading tech documents about machines, drills, etc.

We (my brother and I are in this together now, he liked the idea, hehe) already ordered other software to come with machine, but when we saw VCarve, we quickly canceled it. Your software has nice and simple GUI, is intuitive, can be used by idiots (me), and is perfect solution for those like me, who are just getting into CNC world.