3D In a Pocket?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

3D In a Pocket?

Postby johnelle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:25 pm

My bad for burying a 2nd question in the thread. I can't figure out how to move my 3D to a pocket. I wanted about a 1/2 rim around the outside edge with the model (and lettering) inside. I tried surrounding rectangles and selected both the rectangle(s) and model for the roughing path. Just ignored the rectangles. I looked for the equivalent of a dish in the clipart. No joy there.

This should be easy.

Could somebody give me a hint?
johnelle
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 7:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby martin54 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:53 pm

You can alter the depth of your model within your stock material so if your model needs to be lower down then just increase the gap above model.

Not got the software on this computer but thought there was a square/rectangular dome/dish model within the clipart :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby highpockets » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:59 pm

Something like this?

Image 6.png


Check out this tutorial http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... &time=1207

Bookmark 5
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby johnelle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:20 pm

Yes I've seen the tutorial. The are using a pre-defined "dish" which I used in my last project. My Current project is a rectangle which is machined all the way to the edge of the material. I would like to change it so that the 3D objects appear in a pocket thereby leaving a 1/2 inch frame around the edge. I did not see anything in the standard 3D library that does this. In 2D you can get letters standing out of a pocket by simply drawing a boundary and selecting it with the letters for vcarving.

So the question is how do I do the equivalent? In essence, a 3D model setting on the floor of a pocket?
johnelle
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 7:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby Adrian » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:35 pm

You could do it the same way as you do with letters. Create a vector around the model using the Create Vectory boundary tool. Use that vector and the rectangular vector to create the pocket. Machine the 3D model using the same vector or the model extents option. You would need adjust the model base height so it "sits" on the bottom of the pocket.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby highpockets » Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:04 pm

More like this?

Image 8.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby highpockets » Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:55 am

Sorry, didn't read the raised letter part....

Image 8a.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby johnelle » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:07 pm

Yes. So I assume you did what the support folks recommended yesterday:

  • Surround 3D models with a boundary vector
  • Draw a surrounding shape/vector
  • Pocket path for the area outside the boundary outline
  • 3D path elsewhere
johnelle
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 7:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby Adrian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:23 pm

Which is also what I suggested three posts above on the 11th. You must have missed that.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:31 pm

Adrian wrote:Which is also what I suggested three posts above on the 11th. You must have missed that.


+1 :D
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby highpockets » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:34 pm

Adrian wrote:Which is also what I suggested three posts above on the 11th. You must have missed that.


+2 :D
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: 3D In a Pocket?

Postby redwood » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:13 pm

I do this a lot. Like said previously, just add a boundary around the model from the modeling tab. Pick that boundary, your border boundary and your text using the shift key. I usually just pocket the depth of the model. If that's too deep, I adjust the model thickness. Sometimes the text can get a little too tall if the pocket is too deep. In those instances, I create a pocket over the text, to bring it down to a more comfortable height.
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], mconde, WaltS and 15 guests