Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:20 am

I want to cut out a 'backing plate' for a Trailer Socket and i want the backing plate to be recessed into the Socket, ie I want to machine a small 'step' around the outside of the part.
Anybody know how to do this?
I've tried to create a tool path to cut the step THEN cut the part out...no good. Get an error....can't remember what error now...sorry.
I tried to 'pocket' the area I want to step, but that didn't work.....
I tried to Cut the pocket to a larger size, but that didn't work.....

If I select both outlines, all I get is a pocket over the whole job....not the step I only want.
Software does not seem smart enough to know I on't want the edge cut.

Am I missing something? Is there an easy way to do this? I can't imagine it would be a Cut3D feature only?

Steve
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby AlanAndrews » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:41 am

It is always better if you can provide an image or file of what you are trying to machine.

This will always help to understand your requirements better and provide informed suggestions/recommendations.

I'm not conversant with the limitations of Cut2D, as I'm using Vcarve 9 Pro. In VCarve 9 Pro, this sounds like a simple 2 sided design.

In which case, can you not simply turn the part over and reverse your design? You'll need to build in some reference points in order to get everything aligned.

And if all you need is a recess then does not need to be and exact profile cut....merely a cut that will remove an area of material in order to give you the recessed fit you require.
AlanAndrews
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ELU860

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby Adrian » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:22 pm

Sounds like you just need a simple pocket. Make sure that the vectors you use to define the inside and outside of the pocket are closed vectors and that you have both selected when creating the pocket toolpath.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9361
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:44 pm

Hi Allan,
Thanks for your comments.
Sorry, I was at work and did not have access to any of the files. I was aware how hard it would be to explain....lol

I've had another look, and I *think* the problem may be an Open Vector. See pic.
When I select the inner edge, the bottom section has a the dark line still visible.

I think this is causing that edge to be ignored. I ahve not been able to fix it yet. Still looking at it.

Steve
Attachments
Open Vector.JPG
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:58 pm

The dark line above was caused by a double line....somehow I drew two lines on top of each other....doh.

Cut2D will let me cut the 'step' on the outside of the inner line but it won't let be do final full depth cut to release the job.
I get this error:
Steve
Attachments
Error.JPG
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby bravesoul » Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:13 pm

Generally that means that you have selected a tool that is too large for the job.
bravesoul
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: Cleveland, TN
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRT ALPHA 48"x96"

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:52 pm

I though that as well. I then added a larger boundary to make sure there was enough room for the tool.
That was ok, but I still can't do the final cut out toolpath. It seems to think there isn't enough room when there is.


I'm stumped for now.....

Steve
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby Adrian » Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:40 pm

What toolpath are you using for the cut out? The usual is to use a profile toolpath set to be Outside the vector.

Attaching the actual file is always best with issues like that as it's hard to tell much from a screenshot.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9361
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Tue Jul 31, 2018 4:35 am

Adrian wrote:What toolpath are you using for the cut out? The usual is to use a profile toolpath set to be Outside the vector.

Attaching the actual file is always best with issues like that as it's hard to tell much from a screenshot.


I have tried a Profile tool path. I tired to use a 6mm tool so the result produced a wider 'step' so when I cut it out, it cut the step to the correct size...
I tried a Pocket tool path( correct size) AND over size ( to make room for the tool )

It must have something to do with the changing widths of the 'step' as a simple circular object with a step is no problem ( I tested it. )

Trailer Adapter Back Plate FINAL.crv
(164.5 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby LittleGreyMan » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:44 am

The problematical toolpath does not seem included in your file, so it's hard to tell what's going wrong.

Is it this that you want to achieve?

Backing plate.jpg
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby Adrian » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:07 am

The outside vector is open which will probably be the root of your problems. If you look at the bottom of the right hand vertical section the issue is there. There is a short span that overlaps rather than joining.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9361
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:20 am

LittleGreyMan wrote:The problematical toolpath does not seem included in your file, so it's hard to tell what's going wrong.

Is it this that you want to achieve?

Backing plate.jpg



Thanks Adrian,
I couldn't complete the last two tool paths due to the error.
Its almost right. I want the outside edge to be stepped down.

I will see if I can find the overlap you mentioned.
Thanks
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby sterob » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:33 am

I found the problem you mentioned and fixed it. There was a short extra line that I couldn't see. Thank you.
I noticed the difference in the dotted lines at that point before, but it didn't register as a problem.

Thanks for your help guys! :D
Steve
Attachments
Done.JPG
sterob
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby LittleGreyMan » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:17 am

Adrian wrote:The outside vector is open which will probably be the root of your problems.


I didn't noticed that. As I quickly selected the outside vector and run a profile cut with a 6mm mill selected by error, the toolpath was calculated without any warning and the part was totally cut in the simulation. But looking closely at the toolpath, it is not closed in the overlap region. The material is totally cut because of the sufficient tool diameter.

With a 3mm mill, I get the same error.

I will report it as a bug.

Aspire V9 demo
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine

Re: Cutting a step on the outside of a part.

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:33 pm

This is not a bug. The issue is the vector itself. The problem area is easily found by using the Vector Validator Tool. It's up to the user to make the correction after that. (see screenshot)
Attachments
vector-validator-finds-problem.png
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3874
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Next

Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests