China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby zenkustumz » Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:15 pm

Hey Everyone..

New to the community and excited to get involved.

Just purchased the Cut2d software and was wondering if someone can confirm the post processor i should be using. I currently set up in metric and use design software along with Mach3 and my post processor is a gcode format ending in .tap

I did find the metric gcode post processor, which i am pretty sure its what i should use but wanted to confirm.

my router is using a 2200 water cooled spindle with an er20 collet set up. I build a water chiller system that cools the whole system and does not move above 27 Celsius, with the machine running 4 hours solid..
Very happy so far but excited to expand my projects with this software.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
John
zenkustumz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CHINACNC

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby garylmast » Tue Apr 03, 2018 7:47 pm

Post Processor for Chinese CNC using Mach, if in millimeters. If inches, change (mm) to (inch)

G Code (mm)(*.tap)
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby zenkustumz » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:43 pm

Thank you sir.. It's what I thought but wanted to just confirm..
zenkustumz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CHINACNC

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby BDM » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:17 pm

It may not matter, but if you're using Mach, wouldn't it make more sense to use the Mach3 post processor (Mach2/3 Arcs (mm) (*.txt))?
BDM
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby garylmast » Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:16 pm

It may not matter, but if you're using Mach, wouldn't it make more sense to use the Mach3 post processor (Mach2/3 Arcs (mm) (*.txt))?


I accidentally used that possessor and had a lot of problems, in fact I had to contact Vectric Support. Use the generic one I mentioned. You need a .tap file not a .txt. If using a rotary, then the processor would Mach 2/3-Wrap X2A ATC (mm)(.txt) Changing X to Y if the rotary runs length to length, and (inch) if not using metric.

Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby kstrauss » Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:01 am

Is that CNC controller actually so completely brain dead that it cannot accept both .tap and .txt as file extensions?

I have successfully used CNCwrapper (https://www.cncwrapper.com/) to convert output files to use a 4th axis.
kstrauss
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:37 am
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Tormach PCNC770

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby Leo » Fri Apr 06, 2018 2:35 pm

The extension on the end is meaningless. the G-Code file is TEXT no matter what the extension is. So a .TAP or a .TXT is the same thing. It could also have no extension at all and still work the same.

I use the Mach3 post all the time in my Mach3 control - but have tested others as well. G-Code is G-Code.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: China CNC Zone Router Post processor?

Postby IslaWW » Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:11 pm

A combo reply to the last 3 posts. Yes all gcode files are in essence a text file. That said, some, maybe many will only accept certain file extensions. The reasoning is to make sure that all their required Gcode callouts are in the header and file format is proper. This is usually done by controller OEMs and sometimes modified by machine mfgrs to limit or add feature

A good number of controls can define which extensions they will accept.

Like Leo says, once you get to the actual G0, G1 lines there is little, if any difference.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests