GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby jeffmorris1956 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:28 pm

I have Cut2D 1.5 and a CNC engraving machine that uses GRBL board/controller. I think that the controller expects jobs to be done using metric measurements instead of inch/foot measurements. I tried to use G-Code (mm) post processor but if the job was done using inch/foot measurements when I ran the toolpath on my machine, it hits the Z-Axis limit switch. I found out that Cut2D 1.5 doesn't have GRBL post processor. How can I get the GRBL post processor? I can't decide between Cut2D 9.0 Desktop or VCarve Desktop. I can't upgrade to either program until the end of next week.
jeffmorris1956
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router/Engraver

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby BDM » Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:50 pm

Ask Vectric support, they will provide a set of mm and inches PP's for you. Or the odds are they will see your message and provide them here on the board. They are very good that way.
BDM
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby jeffmorris1956 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:49 am

I thought that there is a webpage where I can download post processors.
jeffmorris1956
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router/Engraver

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby Adrian » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:57 am

jeffmorris1956 wrote:I thought that there is a webpage where I can download post processors.


That's generally on the website of the company that makes the CNC machine or controller.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8624
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby jeffmorris1956 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:06 pm

Adrian, I meant GRBL post processors for Cut2D 1.5 software, not for CNC machines or controllers. I tried G-Code (mm) and G-Code (inches) PP. Cut2D 9.0 has GRBL (mm) and GRBL (inches) PP.
jeffmorris1956
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router/Engraver

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby Adrian » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:18 pm

I know what you meant. The Post Processor is the interface between the CAD/CAM software and the controller that runs the machine.

Cut2D 1.5 is old software now. The current version has the Post Processors. You can copy and edit them to work with 1.5 if needed.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8624
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby ElevationCreations » Sat Feb 03, 2018 4:12 pm

You can design in inches and export tool paths to mm pp for GRBL. Which version if GRBL are you running?

Also ensure your controller is set to metric, not inch.
ElevationCreations
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:29 am
Location: Colorado
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko SO3 XXL & SO3

Re: GRBL PP for Cut2D 1.5?

Postby jeffmorris1956 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:24 pm

I have GRBL 1.1
jeffmorris1956
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router/Engraver


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests