Grid and Ruler

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

Grid and Ruler

Postby cusoak » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:23 pm

I was wondering why the grid spacing and the out side ruler do not match. on the grid i have 4 dots per inch and on the outer ruler I have 10 marks per inch.
And is a grid spacing of .25 the smallest grid . I can get .25 .50 1. but no .125
Was trying to get a line .125 from the edge of my work piece. So I could cut on the line to make a .25 rabbit.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby newmexico » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:54 pm

I'm not sure what software you are referring to here. My apology if I'm off track.

I use Adobe Illustrator grids like a mad man. My settings are:

1" grid
8 subdivisions

And thank God for "Snap-To-Grid."

Maybe using 8 subdivisions within a 1" grid (in whatever software you are using) can give you the 0.125" settings you are looking for?

Hope that helps in some way.
newmexico
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:31 pm
Location: New Mexico
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby cusoak » Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:14 pm

I am using Cut2d to do my designs and generate Tool paths.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby Adrian » Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:02 pm

I wouldn't use grids and rulers when doing something like that. I would use relative moves with the Move tool after using the alignment tools to align along one edge.

With the new snapping and quick keys features there are now many other ways to do it as well.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8216
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby newmexico » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:13 pm

Grids and "Snap To Grid" are extremely useful tools.
They are essential for precise design work, especially if you are designing parts that need to fit together (such as a box or some kind of corner joint).

A good example: Spacing between letters in a typeface...

WORD
or
W O R D

If you need to space the letters out to ensure they cut properly, then you might use a grid with 0.125 spacing between the letters (remember those Monospace fonts?)

My point? Grids are absolutely essential tools for those designing for precision.
newmexico
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:31 pm
Location: New Mexico
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby Adrian » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:22 pm

Not saying that grids aren't useful but many people use them because they aren't aware of the other tools and methods.

Direct entry of values (either via quick keys or the dialogs), smart snapping, the alignment tools, array tools and grids can all be used to do the same things.

At the end of the day it's whatever works and whatever the user feels comfortable with.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8216
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby newmexico » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:26 pm

Thank You!
We totally agree... Whatever works.
newmexico
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:31 pm
Location: New Mexico
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby cusoak » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:39 pm

In my original post I was looking for an answer as to why I could not get a .125 grid on my screen.
I am talking about the little dots that are inside your job size screen.
No matter what I do I cannot get a 1/8" grid, unless I zoom in I can get it to switch to 1/8" then
If you can't get that grid then just tell me.
But In my program that came with my Shapeoko I can get it. I thought that the reason for grids were to snap to them.

Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby Adrian » Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:54 am

Don't know what the minimum size for grids is but it definitely a lot lower than 0.125

At the lower grid spacing levels you would need to zoom right in to get the snapping working at the level you've specified. If you think about it it has to work like that otherwise the screen would be a solid mass of dots as you zoomed out.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8216
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Grid and Ruler

Postby cusoak » Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:59 am

Thanks that makes prefect since.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests