New to this site

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

New to this site

Postby cusoak » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:28 pm

Good morning
I am new to this site, My Name is Jeff Peters and I live in Ohio.
I have a Carbide 3d Shapeoko 3 XXl CNC machine. Have not had it lone but am getting used to it.
I have came acrossed Cut2D the other day and watched several tutorials.
From what I saw it looked to be very easy to use.
Also I liked that there were a lot of video tutorials.
So two questions , Is it that easy to use , and will the tool path machine codes it produces work with Carbide Motion ( which is the program that runs my unit)
Thanks Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:16 pm

Welcome.

Yes and Yes is the short answer.

The trial version will let you produce cut files for the sample files so you can verify that it will work for you and is easy to use.

There are quite a few users with Shapeoko machines on the forum these days.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:24 pm

Thank You for the reply.
Would there be a video tutorial on generating a cut file to save,
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:47 pm

Most of the tutorials cover it as it's the final stage when producing something.

This one covers it as part of the whole job - http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... video_id=1

This one focuses just on the aspect of the toolpath saving - http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... ideo_id=86
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:24 pm

Thank you very much.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:05 pm

Good morning I was looking at the Vectric web site and found a place called Free CNC Projects. So I scrolled down and found a Boat shaped shelf that could be downloaded so I did.
If I download the Trial version of Cut2D Desktop will I be able to open that file and have access to the cut files.
I am a custom cabinet maker / furniture maker/ boat restorer /boat builder. So the boat shelf looks like something I should have in my house.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:34 pm

Some, but not all of the free projects will work with the trial versions. You can load and play around with any of them in the trial version but you can only actually produce cut files for those with the green trial check mark.

This page has all the current trial compatible projects on it - http://www.vectric.com/cool-stuff/free- ... jects.html
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:02 pm

I downloaded the Cut2d trial version.
and follower the video on making the Avalon Sign. And have a question.
When It got to the point of selection the tool to do the pocket, he selected the the tool drop down with all the tools loaded.
When I did the same thing i did not get the same looking tool selection of tools. Mine did not come up with the .125 bit in it.
So would that be correct and then when you buy the product it would come with a complete list of tools?
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:16 pm

I would have thought they would be the same but it doesn't really matter. You can create as many different tools as you like. The ones that come with the product are basically there for preview purposes. You should NEVER use a default tool setup without making sure that the parameters make sense for your machine, make of bit and material. That is one of the main things to learn with CNC; the correct setup for tools.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:55 pm

Adrian What code does the cnc you run use and what software do you use.
Also is it typical on this forum for only one person respond to post's
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby mezalick » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:59 pm

Jeff,
Many people jump in to answer questions,
but why should we add to the answers if the ones posted are correct or the best given as Adrian has done...
It think that could only make the OP confused..

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:19 pm

Thanks I was just wondering.
I prefer having just one reply that way I am not wondering which post is correct.
Jeff.
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:25 pm

cusoak wrote:Adrian What code does the cnc you run use and what software do you use.


My Shobot runs OpenSBP as the code and the control software is the Shopbot Control Software (SB3). My previous machine used Mach3 as the control software.

As far as the Vectric side of things goes these days I use Aspire but I've been through the whole Cut2d/PhotoVCarve/Cut3D/VCarve path.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New to this site

Postby cusoak » Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:13 pm

Can anyone tell me what G code I would use from the drop down of G codes in Cut2d to save toolpaths too for a Shapeoko xxl
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New to this site

Postby Adrian » Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:50 pm

There is a specific Shapeoko postprocessor (inch and mm versions) in Cut2D. I'd try that first. I know some people use the GRBL one as well.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7416
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Next

Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest