What typ of Data

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:26 pm

Hello i an new on hier living in Hamburg Germany.
so i got thih Problem.

got everthing set up on Cut2D did the test run all ok.
went to save it but as what typ of data?

i have a CNC 840 from Stepcraft
The Thing ist i got it on my cnc machine but it did the cuting 50mm over the Wood.
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby Adrian » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:28 pm

What control software does the machine run? That's the important thing. If it runs Mach3 then you need to save the toolpaths using a Mach3 post processor. Same thing if it's WinCNC etc.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7420
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: What typ of Data

Postby highpockets » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:00 pm

TerryNr.1 wrote:The Thing ist i got it on my cnc machine but it did the cuting 50mm over the Wood.


Did you set your Z zero before starting the cut? Look at where the Material (Z) and XY Datum are set in Cut2D on your project. You must setup your machine to match.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:06 pm

Hello yes i set z Zero and my Maschinen is runing on win Pc-Nc usb
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby Adrian » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:01 pm

There is a WinPC-NC post processor in the output list so that's the one you should be using.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7420
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:59 am

Thanks i will try that
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:19 am

Well i did think i used i+that one the first time and yes i did.

after trying 5-6 things i know whats going wrong both X and Y are running good.

Only Z is running the wrong way round what i mean is instead of going in to the Wood on ist way round Z- it goes up Z+.

So when i let it run it hits the Wood goes up in a digonal turns on ths spindel and then goes up Z+ 2mm to do the Job in the Air the 2nd time round it goes up 2mm again.
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby Adrian » Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:18 am

Sounds like you have your Z axis wired backwards. Down is negative and up is positive
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7420
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: What typ of Data

Postby LittleGreyMan » Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:18 am

Hi Terry,

Did the Stepcraft came with some sample code?

Did it run correctly? If not, get in touch with the manufacturer.

If it runs correctly, could you post this sample here?

Was the Stepcraft machine a kit you assembled yourself or was it already build?


Tschüss
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:11 pm

Hello,


A sample code?

I did get some sample to work on and they run good it did eveyrthing it should do.

The Stepcraft machine was assembled from the manufacturer

The sample have done was:
Muster06.plt PLT-Datei

The wireing for Z should be ok because it did run with The Sample
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby kstrauss » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:56 pm

When I started using Cut2d (version 1.5) I foolishly choose the PCNC post because I had a Tormach PCNC770 controlled by Mach3. The gcode output was reversed -- the post thought that up was negative! I have a nice gouge in my mill table due to this. I have no idea if things have changed in the intervening few years. Why not try one of the Mach2/3 posts assuming that your machine uses normal gcode?
kstrauss
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:37 am
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Tormach PCNC770

Re: What typ of Data

Postby TerryNr.1 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:19 pm

Hello,

And Thanks for your help it was only a tick in a box z invers what was wrong.

:D
TerryNr.1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft840

Re: What typ of Data

Postby mikeacg » Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:07 pm

Never heard of a Stepcraft before but a little research showed that it was a Kick Start project a while back. One of those multiple process machines (mill, 3D print, etc.).
According to this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOsSU2hGvik
you save as Mach 2/3 (mm) (*.txt) files.
I suggest you look at your manual or call the manufacturer support line. Otherwise you can search the internet a bit more like I did. You seem to be close to making it work! You just need to figure out what kind of post processor to use...

Mike
User avatar
mikeacg
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Newberry, MI
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger, Sidewinder, SB 4x4


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests