2 lines from Illustratur

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bbowley2@cox.net » Thu Mar 09, 2017 5:37 pm

I tried to find the answer reading this forum but couldn't solve my problem.
When I import a vector I created in illustrator it opens in Cut2D with 2 lines.
Corel the same thing.
Most times the vectors are closed and I can't isolate vectors to delete.
What am I doing wrong?
bbowley2@cox.net
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 3040

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby Adrian » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:34 pm

What do you have the line thickness set to? I don't use Illustrator but in the package I used to use had that issue when using thicker line weights.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bbowley2@cox.net » Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:02 pm

I'm bringing images to Illustrator from Photoshop. Looks good in illustrator but 2D sees each edge as a separate line. They are all connected so I can't isolate lines to delete them. Is it somehow possible to break lines in 2D?
bbowley2@cox.net
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 3040

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby garylmast » Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:08 pm

Select the vector, then either hit "n" on the keyboard or under edit vectors the arrow with a sunbrust next to it to get to node editing.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bbowley2@cox.net » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:21 pm

Thanks. I was able to delete the extra lines. I still would like to know how to build a graphic that doesn't come into 2D with double lines.
bbowley2@cox.net
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 3040

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby Adrian » Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:40 am

Did you try the line weights etc? That's almost certainly what it is assuming that you're importing as vectors and not tracing a bitmap.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:12 pm

bbowley2@cox.net wrote:I'm bringing images to Illustrator from Photoshop. Looks good in illustrator but 2D sees each edge as a separate line. They are all connected so I can't isolate lines to delete them. Is it somehow possible to break lines in 2D?


Does this mean that you are doing an "image trace" on the image file in Illustrator? If so, on the image trace panel there is an "Advanced" area that you can access by clicking on the ">" symbol. One of the options that will appear is "Ignore White". Set that option and you will only get one set of paths.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bbowley2@cox.net » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:23 pm

No trace. I'm adding a vector file to a new page.
bbowley2@cox.net
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 3040

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:58 pm

Then the next question would be: do you have a sample Illustrator file that can be posted here to see if others can replicate your dilemma?
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bbowley2@cox.net » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:38 am

Sure. Here is an image.
Attachments
fleur-di-lis-large-hi.ai
(275.63 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
fleur-di-lis-large-hi.crv
(124.5 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
bbowley2@cox.net
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 3040

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby Adrian » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:30 am

Is that image a drawn image or a blown up font character? Illustrator uses outlined filled fonts that look to the human eye to be same as a line but they're not.

If it is a drawn image then it's going to be a similar issue. Set the stroke weight as thin as it will go and make sure fills are turned off.

If you do a google search for "double lines illustrator cnc" you will find loads of information out there as many people have the same issue. It's nothing to do with Cut2D or any other CAM program and all to do with the way Illustrator works.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby bobrickard » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:23 pm

If you Object>Image Trace>Expand your tracing in Illustrator and then switch to Outline mode, you'll see the two lines. But if before you Expand the tracing you click on Outline in the Image Trace Control Panel, you'll see that you end up with only one line.
Attachments
outline.png
two lines.png
one line.png
bobrickard
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:42 pm
Location: Beacon, NY 12508
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop MAX

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby mtylerfl » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:51 pm

bobrickard wrote:If you Object>Image Trace>Expand your tracing in Illustrator and then switch to Outline mode, you'll see the two lines. But if before you Expand the tracing you click on Outline in the Image Trace Control Panel, you'll see that you end up with only one line.


Thank you for that tip, Bob!

I have Illustrator (via Adobe Subscription now), but most experienced in CorelDRAW. I've not been too thrilled with either program for Centerline Tracing (works kinda-sorta-sometimes). Your tip about the Outline feature in Illustrator is one I had missed. Thanks again!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby adze_cnc » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:12 pm

bbowley2@cox.net wrote:When I import a vector I created in illustrator it opens in Cut2D with 2 lines.


The .AI and .CRV files you posted show me that you got exactly what you should have given the method used to trace that image into Illustrator vectors.

bbowley2@cox.net wrote:What am I doing wrong?


As I posted previously you didn't set the "Ignore White" option in Illustrator's "Image Tracing" panel. If your desire is to VCarve between the vectors you would be ready to go by ignoring white. If your desire is cut out the bulk of the fleur-de-lys as an object with those rounded rectangles as pockets or through-cuts then you just need to delete the 4 extraneous inside vectors of your original image. You could follow bobrickard's tip but see attached image. Imagine having to correct hundreds of these.

vector-probs.gif


I do wish that Illustrator had the ability to do "centre-line" tracing.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: 2 lines from Illustratur

Postby Adrian » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:25 pm

The OP said he wasn't tracing an image though?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests