text measurements

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.

text measurements

Postby berrows@comcast.net » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:32 am

Haven't been on in a while, finally figured out most of my problems. Here's a new one. I notice that when doing inlays, in draw text you can put in a text HEIGHT but how can you make the text thicker if you want? The tutorials say nothing on this that I can find. Some times you may want to exaggerate your text for effect but how, or does it just automatically do that with no other wanted adjustments given and your stuck with what it gives you...Doug...thanks for any and all info.
berrows@comcast.net
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: probotix fireball 90

Re: text measurements

Postby FixitMike » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:52 am

Click on the Bold option box.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (extensively modified)

Re: text measurements

Postby berrows@comcast.net » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:40 pm

Hi Mike and thanks for your FYI. I do know about clicking on the bold however, that really doesn't do what I'm looking for. I went back and found that if I use "Transform mode" for some tweeking and then go to the Distortion tool I can basically distort the text along with some node editing pulling here and there. I guess that's how you do it because I see nothing else to tell me otherwise. So thanks Mike and good cutting...Doug
berrows@comcast.net
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: probotix fireball 90

Re: text measurements

Postby Adrian » Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:50 pm

There are lots of different ways of doing it but it all depends on the look you're going for. You can use the transform mode, offset tool, boundary create, node edit etc.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9487
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: text measurements

Postby berrows@comcast.net » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:37 pm

Thanks Adrian for your FYI. I can tell you that, I do use most anything that can be manipulated to distort the text or image, just don't see how the offset would do that, but thanks anyhow. That would be a great tool for Vectric to put together for there software, especially when time might be crucial for you and customers, easy-peezy works well. Thanks again...Doug
berrows@comcast.net
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: probotix fireball 90

Re: text measurements

Postby TReischl » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:41 am

I dunno, I have made text thicker using the offset tool quite a few times ::::shrug:::::
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2786
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: text measurements

Postby berrows@comcast.net » Sun Sep 08, 2019 3:39 am

Hi Treischi, I didn't try to sound negative to your post and I apologize if I did. I got very busy and wasn't able to chat at you. So I would like it if you would tell me how you can make a letter any letter thicker or (exaggerated) to get a certain effect. I have tried using the node edit tool but when I click on one of the many nodes on that letter, It usually looks very pointed and then I,m in trouble trying to pull the other nodes and of course it is nothing that your looking for, it may come down to technique so I would appreciate any info you can share...thanks...Doug
berrows@comcast.net
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: probotix fireball 90

Re: text measurements

Postby Adrian » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:58 am

Select the text, click the offset tool, enter your desired measurement and check the "create sharp offset" box. Optionally you can check the other two if you want.

Click offset and you have larger text. Most likely the text will now be overlapping unless you went for a small offset. To counteract that you can use the kerning tool (Edit Text Spacing and Curve) to put some space between the letters before offseting or convert the text to curves and manually space it out.

Once you've got the letters "chunky" enough for your tastes you can then use the Size tool to set the letters to be the exact height you need.

It's something I do multiple times a day especially this time of year when I'm doing so much lettering for weddings.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9487
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: text measurements

Postby berrows@comcast.net » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:29 pm

Hi Adrian, thanks for your info and hopefully I can understand on how to use this. I have never used any offsets so I'll have to work at this to be sure. If I can get this once or twice I'm good to go. I just keep thinking that there has to be an easy way to do this. Cut2d has so many tools that I haven't begun to use yet after a year and a half and that's probably why I get a bit frustrated when trying to do something that to me should be easy but just haven't used those certain processes. Thanks again and I'll let you know if I do this right...Doug
berrows@comcast.net
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: probotix fireball 90


Return to Cut2D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests