Image needed

The Gallery is for posting images of work machined using Cut3D

Image needed

Postby rct01 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 11:50 pm

Hello to all out there in CNC land... I am in the middle of a rush job and am in need of an Inkwell and Quill pen image, in V3M file format for cut3d for a plaque. I have waiting for an answer from Vectric. If anyone can help would be much appreciated...Thank You Robert in Indiana
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby Sara M » Fri Jan 03, 2014 4:02 pm

Dear rct01,

To which email address did you send your message to? I have run a search in our support email account and couldn't find an email from you.
Would you please be able to send us an email with your original query to - support@vectric.com?
If you can't find the artwork that you are looking for in the Vector Art 3D models catalog, you can request a quote by filling out the details available on this page - http://www.vectorart3d.com/Quote/, attach an image or a vector file containing the design that you wish us to model for you and submit the information.
After doing this step, you will receive a reply from one the Vector Art 3D artists regarding the quote.


I hope that this helps.
Sara M
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Model of CNC Machine: jjgjgjg

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:53 am

Thank You, Rebecca replied and said she would turn my request over to the artists, Robert
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby Mike-S » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:10 pm

Will this help?
Attachments
inkwell-quill.jpg
inkwellquill-stl.zip
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 381 times
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: Image needed

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:25 pm

Thank you Mike
Always nice to keep in the "Maybe I Can Use It for Something One Day" file :lol:
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SharkPro+HD Heavily modified

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:18 pm

Thanks Mike, But can I use this in file in cut3d? I think all of my other file extensions are V3M... I am not sure how this works...I will try it out...Robert
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby Leo » Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:37 pm

Robert, Yes you can import STL into Cut3D.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2417
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:33 pm

Thanks to all, It worked and cut fine. I not only completed my job but learned in the process, a good thing...Thanks from Robert in Michigan City, Indiana...
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:04 pm

Next Question: I wanting to know if there is a way to cut 3 images at once using cut3d. Right now I am starting my roughing tool path than running my finish tool path. But I have to do this three separate times. If I could run the roughing tool path for the same image three times than run the finish tool path three times I would have three images done at once...Thanks, Robert
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby Mike-S » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:03 pm

Make your material large enough to hold three items, then just copy and paste more models onto your work material.
Attachments
inkwell-penprev.jpg
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:12 pm

I created my image in cut3d but I don't see a copy and paste. I must be missing something...Thanks, Robert
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby tmerrill » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:49 pm

Robert,

Cut3D only works with one model at a time.

If you also have Cut2D or VCarve Pro you can set your file up in Cut3D, calculate the toolpaths and save it. Then use the File>Import>Import PhotoVCarve or Cut3D toolpaths to import the toolpaths into Cut2D or VCP. Import the number of times you need and position on the material. Then save all the Roughing toolpaths as one toolpath file and all the Finish toolpaths as another toolpath file. At your machine you will just run the two files - one to rough all the copies and one to finish all the copies.

If you have calculated a cutout toolpath in Cut3D it will import and work the same as the Roughing and Finish.

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:50 am

Thanks Tim, Thanks for all the help, I am getting closer. I generated my image in cut3d and saved it and imported it into VCP. It imports a rough and a finishing tool path all at once. So I imported it three more times and now have a total of four images on my screen. 4 rough and 4 finish tool paths. I assume I am to put a check mark in all four rough tool paths and save it to one file and the same for the finish. Is this correct? My next question is...does it matter where the images are laid out on my material or is the finish tool path for each object overlaid with the roughing tool path? Lets say if one image is positioned up or down to make them fit on my material...Thanks, Robert
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Re: Image needed

Postby tmerrill » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:25 am

I assume I am to put a check mark in all four rough tool paths and save it to one file and the same for the finish. Is this correct?

Yes, that is correct plus you need to be sure the option box circled in the snip below is checked.

You are limited as to what you can do with the imported toolpaths but however VCP allows you to move and layout the bitmap images, the rough and finish toolpaths will automatically move with the image and remain correct.

You can simulate multiple toolpaths to see exactly how they will be cut at your machine. Just check (make visible) the toolpaths you intend to save together and use the "Preview Visible Toolpaths" button in the Toolpath Preview tab. Be sure to check the box to Animate Preview if you want to see the full toolpath sequence and not just the end result.

In your case, check the four roughing toolpaths and preview them as explained above. The sequence and results will show in the preview window. Now uncheck the roughing toolpaths and check the four finish toolpaths and preview them.

Tim
Attachments
Output multiple toolpaths.JPG
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Image needed

Postby rct01 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:32 am

Tim, you really know your CNC...I followed your instructions and now have four finished images after four roughing tool paths made and followed it up with four finish passes. I used to have to run back to my machine when creating more than one image but thanks to the help I received from you on this forum, I have learned another process in learning CNC. Thanks Again, Robert Tylisz in Indiana. hum, maybe laser engraving next...having lots of fun, bye
rct01
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:22 am

Next

Return to Cut3D - Gallery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests