machining boundaries?

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D

machining boundaries?

Postby jram » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:49 am

Hello all, new here. How do I go about making sure that I am not machining area that does not need to be machined? For example, I am cutting out a simple spoon and the toolpath keeps cutting material that does not need to be cut outside the path of the spoon. I also use other software and we have a "do not machine horizontal or vertical ambient" button. What it the equivalent in cut 3D? Thanks
jram
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: machining boundaries?

Postby adze_cnc » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:31 pm

Been a long time since I used Cut3D:

look for "Use Model Silhouette" in the help file. I think that's what you need.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: machining boundaries?

Postby jram » Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:58 pm

vectric2.png
vectric1.png
first



I have attached images of my settings. I checked sillhouette and now it's only machining the inside. Not sure what is wrong
jram
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: machining boundaries?

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:48 pm

I presume those measurements are in millimetres. The value for "Symmetrical" is 0.5 which to me is 1/2 of a millimetre. As you are cutting with 1/4" (6.35mm) bit try a value for symmetrical of 7 or greater (if 0.5 was 1/2" you could use 12)
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: machining boundaries?

Postby jram » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:41 pm

Thank you! I can’t believe I missed that detail, working great now!
jram
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot


Return to Cut3D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest