Horizontal cut on slides model

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D

Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby theideacreek » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:09 am

Hello I'm trying to cut a 3d model that is 6" thick. In order to do this I need to slice the model. The model has all vertical cuts with the exception of one horizontal cut. How do I make Cut3D cut the portion of the horizontal circle as part of each slice. I have attached a photo for more information.

Thanks in advance for the help.
-Jeremy
Attachments
Cut3D Model Example.JPG
theideacreek
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:22 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 3636

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby FixitMike » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:23 am

Vectric products do not handle undercuts. That is because they describes parts as surfaces with a Z height at each X, Y, location. You can cut some undercuts by lying about the tool used, but it won't show in the previews. Your horizontal hole is essentially an undercut as far as the program is concerned.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby PaulRowntree » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:16 pm

FixItMike is 100% correct on all fronts.

With a simple cube-ish block it would probably be easiest to do one set of cuts, then reposition the material in a related jig to do the side-ways bore operation.

Or just drill it.
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:14 pm

PaulRowntree wrote:With a simple cube-ish block it would probably be easiest to do one set of cuts, then reposition the material in a related jig to do the side-ways bore operation.


...and by doing that you no longer need the 3D model as this appears to be all 2D toolpaths relative to each face. This could be realized using Cut2D or V-Carve if you have them.

Steven
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby FixitMike » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:09 pm

adze_cnc wrote:
PaulRowntree wrote:With a simple cube-ish block it would probably be easiest to do one set of cuts, then reposition the material in a related jig to do the side-ways bore operation.


...and by doing that you no longer need the 3D model as this appears to be all 2D toolpaths relative to each face. This could be realized using Cut2D or V-Carve if you have them.

Steven

My impression is that the slicing was being done because the block is 6" deep and many machines lack the capacity to handle the depths of cuts that are shown. The Z travel has to be at least twice the depth of the cut so the tool can clear the material. 2D paths, of course, run a lot faster than a 3D path would. But I believe you need a 3D model to utilize slicing.

Myself, I would just figure out what the various 2d slices would be and cut them as such.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby theideacreek » Fri Mar 23, 2018 2:33 am

Thank you all for the information. At least I won't spend anymore time trying to figure out how to make Cut3D do this. I'll come up with another approach. The 6" thick did cause the need to slice the model.

Sincerely,
Jeremy
theideacreek
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:22 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 3636

Re: Horizontal cut on slides model

Postby Leo » Fri Mar 23, 2018 4:03 pm

At best that is a 2D - not 3D part.

2D to do the top as pockets and a drill press for the side hole.

Another approach is a drill press with Forstner bits. Maybe a hand held router for the large top pocket, but you will need to set up a little bit of fixturing. Drill press for the side hole.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254


Return to Cut3D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests