x axis not to drawn dimension

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
bentfab
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router Parts 5x10 kit

x axis not to drawn dimension

Post by bentfab »

Howdy. I've been using Cut 3D for a few years to make art, I use cnc to get me 90% there then do the rest by hand adding details and mods as I go. Over the weekend I was making some pieces much smaller than I normally do and realized that the actual part made by cnc was consistently about .1" smaller in the x axis than what I had drawn. The y and z dimensions were also a bit smaller, but only by a few hundredths, which is acceptable.

These 3D cut parts are supposed to match up with some 2D cut pieces which came out as drawn. I checked some older pieces I had made and they appeared to also be off about .1" on the x axis. But these are much bigger pieces and they don't have to fit anything so I never noticed.

I draw in Rhino 5 and export as a stl. I don't think it's my machine because 2D cuts are spot on. Have I inadvertently changed a setting in Cut3D, or never set it up correctly? Is this just the way it is and I need to stretch all my drawings by .1" x axis before I export?

Any help appreciated.

Leo
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made

Re: x axis not to drawn dimension

Post by Leo »

Have you ever calibrated your machine for "steps per inch" on all three axis's?
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind, combined with the functionality of CNC

bentfab

Post by bentfab »

If my machine was off wouldn't 2D cuts be off as well as 3D?

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Post by adze_cnc »

Instead of exporting the model as an STL file could you export it as a Rhino version 4 file and try that instead?

You'll have to tell Rhino that yes, indeed, you want to use version 4 instead of 5. (Honestly McNeel, can you not trust that I know what I'm doing instead of forcing me to verify that I do want a 4.0 file?)

Steven

bentfab