origin and work material position

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D

origin and work material position

Postby terry1956 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:07 pm

hi, I just had a go at machining a part on my mill which I had drawn in solidworks and imported into cut3d to write the G code. a few things I just don't understand. as you work your way through the setup pages the work material part was always showing face forward to the right. yet when I set the material up in the machine this way. when I air cut the program the machine was cutting as if the material was left facing. I have never had this problem before. can anyone point out what I have done wrong. thanks. michael
terry1956
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sieg x1

Re: origin and work material position

Postby Kayvon » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:11 pm

I find "face forward to the right" to be a confusing way to refer to cuts. When you import a model into Cut3D, you may find it doesn't "face" the way you had anticipated. For example, if you imported a bust, it's possible for the person's nose to be facing the x axis or the y axis, so depending on visual clues from the cut model is difficult at best.

Fortunately, Cut3D offers an axis orientation in the corner of the model, regardless of where the origin is. It displays three arrows showing the direction of positive Z ("up"), positive X, and positive Y. Those are what you want to use when orienting your material to the machine.

It's a good piece of software. I used it yesterday to help a kid from church with his pinewood derby car.
Kayvon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:29 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: origin and work material position

Postby terry1956 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:47 pm

Thanks.what I cant figure out is this. First the import model is always facing the wrong way.yes I know that you can turn it.then the apart from positioning the model in the centre you can't move it.I am trying to machine a 30mm end section of brass bar.but I just cant find a way to position the work in this program and wonder if its possible.is it ???.
terry1956
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sieg x1

Re: origin and work material position

Postby Kayvon » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:36 am

You can only reposition ("Rotate 90") and mirror ("Mirror X" and "Y") the model. You can scale it, too. Apart from also choosing your origin position, that's all you can do.
Kayvon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:29 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: origin and work material position

Postby terry1956 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:40 pm

Thanks for reply i am beginning to think that cut3d was a waste of money for what it does.
terry1956
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sieg x1

Re: origin and work material position

Postby Adrian » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:21 pm

That's why there are trial versions so you can work out in advance if the program does what you want it to.

You should be able to us the XY origin position to move the start of the toolpath to that position offset from your control set XY to do what you want.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: origin and work material position

Postby terry1956 » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:13 pm

the test visions are so paired back sometimes its pointless. but I think this cut3d for the money is a total waste. just far too limited in its use. I have gone back to using fusion 360 for toolpaths. pity because I like vcarve desktop for making my locomotive name plates and so on and was hoping that cut2d was along the same lines but better, I was wrong
terry1956
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sieg x1

Re: origin and work material position

Postby Adrian » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:07 am

If you've got VCarve why not use that to make the item?

VCarve can cut 3D pieces as well and you can directly position them in the material rather than using the XY offset as you have to with Cut3D. Cut3D's strength is in multi-sided 3D machining but you can do that in VCarve as well if needed.

The trials are fully functional except you can only cut the sample files but you can calculate and preview any file.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: origin and work material position

Postby Kayvon » Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:02 pm

Cut3D is a fine tool for what it does (primarily for multi-sided 3d machine, as Adrian said). With the addition of 3D machine to VCarve a little over a year ago, a lot of the 3d functionality most folks want is already wrapped up in VCarve. It's not that Cut3D has gotten any worse, it's that VCarve really stepped it up.

Aspire, of course, has always had the 3D capability for as long as I've known about it.
Kayvon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:29 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: origin and work material position

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:06 pm

terry1956 wrote:which I had drawn in solidworks and imported into cut3d to write the G code


Remember that Solidworks thinks that the Y-axis is "up and down" whereas Rhinoceros, all the Vectric products, CNC machines, and just about everyone else thinks that the Z-axis is "up and down". This means that any model you import will be 90 degrees off and won't match with any visual in Cut3D.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008


Return to Cut3D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests