How would you toolpath this?

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
Winspear
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft S300

How would you toolpath this?

Post by Winspear »

Hi,
I am about to head into production of my product and have a successful toolpath. However it can be improved upon and sped up, I am very new to this.

I have attached a picture of the 3d model.

The main issue is the indentation into the angled upper surface. The Finishing toolpath in Cut3d just works across by its stepover, so I am not left with a perfect oval outline. I have minimized the stepover to make it ok but it's still not great and this hugely increases the time, because it uses the small stepover unnecessarily on the entire top surface.
The Roughing stage does seem to finish depth passes on everything I have made so far by doing a cleaning run around the perimeter to get rid of steps on edges. However this isn't the case for the Finishing stage and it doesn't do it on the roughing stage because of the angle.

This would be easy if the hole were a simple flat profile cut that could be made via Pocket in Cut2d. However as you can see, its base is angled, as are its walls.

Ideally I would be able to do the hole as a 2nd process. However I'm completely unsure how to go about profiling a hole, angled, in "mid air" on a job. I don't believe I can use cut 2Ds pocket function because of the angled base and walls. Nor do I believe I can use Cut3D as it's not a block polysurface to import, but rather something to cut out of one made by the previous toolpath...
I'd love to separate these two processes as the main big 3d triangle only needs to be a VERY rough finish! However the hole needs to be close to perfect..

Any advice is appreciated :)
Attachments
1.png

kyeakel
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger STV4800

Re: How would you toolpath this?

Post by kyeakel »