Shapeoko 2 Questions

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
marcus4e
Model of CNC Machine: DIY

Shapeoko 2 Questions

Post by marcus4e »

I am building a Shapeoko 2 and have it about ready for testing. I am considering Cut2D or Cut3D and I have several questions.

1. Are there post processors for these programs to run with the Arduino / gShield micro controller.
2. Eventually I will be upgrading to the TinyG micro controller. Are there post processors for this system?
3. I am a beginner at CNC and do not fully appreciate the differences in the Cut2D and Cut3D software to know which one to purchase. I believe most of the projects I have in mind that Cut2D will do the job, but I hate to find out later on that I need Cut3D to do something I had not planned on at this time. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Being a hobbyist, I wish to minimize my $ expenditure. Right now, my plans are to make wooden clock movements with wooden gears so I think Cut2D is sufficient, but I know that I will be expanding my project thoughts as I get the system working. Any help or guidance in sorting out which to choose will be appreciated.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Shapeoko 2 Questions

Post by Adrian »

It's not really the controller board such as those you've mentioned rather than the controller software that is important for the Post Processor.

Most people with self made machines use Mach3 but there are Post Processors for WinCNC and generic g-code ones.

Cut3D is made for machining existing 3D dimensional (either true 3D or relief) models. You cannot create models or any form of vectors with Cut3D.

Cut2D will allow you to create vectors and toolpath them as well as import from other programs. It can create profile, pocket and drilling toolpaths.

For most general CNC work Cut2D is the one you want and certainly the right one for wooden gears etc. If you can afford it VCarve would give you even more options.