Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark HD2 - Black Diamond CP v2.1

Colt 1911 project update

Post by NewAgent45 »

Setup
Setup
Bottom
Bottom
I’m a novice and new to CNC. I have only had my CNC Shark Black Diamond about a month now. I’m experimenting and learning something every day. One of my projects is carving a pistol in 3D. I actually started my project before I saw the James Bond PPK posted on the Vectric web site. I'm taking some similar approaches.

I’m importing an un-textured model into Cut3D creating and running the toolpaths, after setup

I’m running the following sequence of toolpaths.
1. Rough – Top
2. Rough-Bottom
3. Finishing – Bottom
4. Finishing – Top
5. Cut Tabs

For now I’m using two 8 X 10 inch pieces of ¾ MDF laminated together for my blanks so my thickness is 1 1/2. I checked the thickness after gluing and it is remarkably close to 1.50”.

My first picture shows my setup. I extended the 5/16 dowel pins so they would be visible in the photograph.
The second and third pictures are the top and bottom view of my first complete carve. There are definite quality issues with my final product. These issue are what I would like to discuss and hopefully get some good advice.

Issues:
1. The finish cuts did not quite cut all the way through and left a thin fin behind. It made removing the finished carve from the support frame very hard. I see I specified and overcut distance of 0.0 on the Cut3D material size page. Is this the correct parameter to correct this problem? I also see also see a cut plane position in model. This is currently unselected and don’t seem to be pertinent for my issue.