Female Mould problem

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D

Female Mould problem

Postby Charlie Iliff » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:45 pm

I am trying to learn how to make a female mould for fiberglass layup of foil shapes. I design the shape in Rhino and export as .dfx or .stl. When it is imported into CUT3D (PartWorks 3D) and I define the blank, the program draws a border around the pocket that will be the mould, and shows that as cut out. If I define a block with the pocket in Rhino, Cut3D cuts around the outside outline of the block. I haven't found a way to program it just to excavate the female mould pocket. What am I missing?

Charlie Iliff
Charlie Iliff
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby pupetxls » Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:47 pm

Hi guys,

I'm having the same issue.
Attached you have an example for what I'm trying to do. I'd like to mill that red half sphere. And ONLY that!

I'm on the same trouble as Charlie is.

Could anybody help?

Thanks,
Pupet
Attachments
Cut3d.JPG
pupetxls
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:18 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Mill

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby tmerrill » Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:07 pm

Pupet,

I just saw your post on another forum where you said Aspire won't work well for this project because it doesn't have tabs like Cut3D does. Actually, Aspire has tabs, you just create them like you would any other simple 3D shape. If you need help with that, let us know because I think you would be better off using Aspire for this project and having complete control over the machining area.

I also can't relate to your comment about Aspire's 3D toolpaths not being as good when compared to Cut3D's. Aspire has more options and control over 3D toolpaths than Cut3D, so again let us help you.

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby pupetxls » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:19 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your fast reply, wasn't expecting that.
I'm surprised by your support.

Well, actually I really liked the Cut3d easy way of working, not to mention it's cost too.
Sadly I believe, it is not able to serv me in this purpouse.

The price difference between Cut3d and Aspire is quite high, considering that this is the only issue that I've faced with Cut3d. I'm using almost none of it's design features or the carving parts. So for me it is not worth the investment.

As for tabs, made in 3d, it's abit complicated, because my m.o. is quite fuzzy. I cut different parts, on different nestings and sheets according to the orders that I collect. Part design changes also frequently, this is why I'd avoid if possible the 3d tabs.

Even if it can't do this 3d pocket, I am amazed by Cut3d's capabilities. (cut2d's aswell).
Remarkable software.

Thanks,
Take care,
Pupet
pupetxls
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:18 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Mill

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby tmerrill » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:26 pm

Sorry, the way I read your other post I thought you had both programs.

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby Charlie Iliff » Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:12 am

Tim:

From your note above, am I correct in concluding that Cut3d can not create a toolpath to cut just the hollow of a 3D pocket, but always will outline the 3D object as in the attached, and that Aspire is needed to control the toolpath to eliminate the border (and surface) cuts?

Charlie Iliff
Attachments
Finishing Toolpath Preview.png
Charlie Iliff
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby tmerrill » Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:27 am

Hi Charlie,

I don't want to give an absolute answer because hopefully someone knows a technique that will do what you need. But I have been trying some examples and haven't been able to find a solution for you. You have some control over machining margins in Step 2, but I think the big issue is when a shape is a negative, the model depth has to equal at least the depth of the negative. This means the sides are viewed as needing machining.

I understand everyone's situation is different, but this would be very easy to do in Aspire. You could do the modeling, set machining boundaries and create toolpaths all in Aspire, or import your Rhino model and use Aspire to set the toolpaths up. If you do a lot of these, Aspire may be a good solution.

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby Charlie Iliff » Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:41 am

Thanks Tim:

I'd love to have Aspire, but finances prevent it, for now. If you think of a work around in Cut3D, I'd sure appreciate it.

Charlie
Charlie Iliff
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby tmerrill » Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:54 am

Charlie,

Would it be possible to use Cut3D to make a positive, then use that with an appropriate type of plaster or silicon to create the negative mold???

A few extra steps involved, but a possible solution using what you have available for software tools.

Tim
Attachments
foil positive.JPG
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby Charlie Iliff » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:31 pm

It's possible, Tim. We actually are working on the female mould to see if it does a better job than just a 2-sided male carving. We've practiced and gotten decent results with a male carving, and probably will do that instead of a female mould unless we have better luck with the female than we have so far.

Thanks
Charlie Iliff
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby kilrabit » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:11 pm

If this is your only option... You might try in Rhino, on your half sphere, make an additional .010 straight extrusion added upward to your sphere, or whatever is necessary,and set your zero .010 above the material. You would still cut a box to match your plane, but it would not cut the top of the material.





Roy
kilrabit
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:04 am
Location: Uvalde Texas

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby esteeme1 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:27 pm

Can you import your stl file then edit the code to stop before you get to the outer edges? If you use an offset toolpath the code will begin cutting in the middle. If you need it in a specific location you can locate the center of the model and position it when you import it into cut 3D. I know this is not the best solution but if is saves you money.....
Jim Darlas
Just say, "Can Do!"
http://www.esteemedwoodcrafts.com
User avatar
esteeme1
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:26 pm
Location: Chesapeake VA
Model of CNC Machine: Cobra 404 ATC; ROMAX WD-1; Shark

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby tmerrill » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:39 pm

If you use an offset toolpath the code will begin cutting in the middle

Cut3D does not offer an offset toolpath option.

Tim
tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: North Carolina
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Female Mould problem

Postby esteeme1 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:46 pm

I guess that would be a problem then. Sorry!

tmerrill wrote:
If you use an offset toolpath the code will begin cutting in the middle

Cut3D does not offer an offset toolpath option.

Tim
Jim Darlas
Just say, "Can Do!"
http://www.esteemedwoodcrafts.com
User avatar
esteeme1
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:26 pm
Location: Chesapeake VA
Model of CNC Machine: Cobra 404 ATC; ROMAX WD-1; Shark

Possible Solution

Postby Charlie Iliff » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:33 pm

I haven't actually cut it, yet, but Ron Churches, over on the ShopBot forum suggested putting in a machining margin of .0001, rather than zero. The previews show the cut just in the area I want, with no outer margin and no surfacing.
That seems to g with the thread that discussed Cut3D ignoring holes that are too small for the bit. I'll test on the machine in a couple of days.

Charlie
Charlie Iliff
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy

Next

Return to Cut3D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests