Cut plane position in model question

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D

Cut plane position in model question

Postby BDM » Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:40 am

I have a model that is 1.2" thick and I would like to cut two halves out of .75" wood and then glue them together. I set my cut plane position to center (.60") and the plane looks like it is cutting it in half, but when I do the preview, the deepest cut is .6" rather than close to the .75" I would expect. Do I need to take the difference between .75 and .60 (.15) and tell the program that the depth of the model below the surface is .15? The help file isn't that clear on the subject, so I wanted to make sure I understood what the program is doing.

Thanks,

BDM
BDM
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan

Re: Cut plane position in model question

Postby BDM » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:19 am

I think I answered my own question by playing around with depth and checking the preview, but never hurts to double check.
BDM
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan


Return to Cut3D - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest